The Sew Weekly Stash Busting Challenge

Mena of The Sew Weekly invites us to sew along this year: she puts up weekly challenges which leave a lot of room for creativity and I have decided to join the challenges every now and then if they are in line with my own sewing plans.
This weeks challenge is “Stash Busting”, and you get points for the following categories

  • 5 points per yard of fabric used
  • 10 points for fabric being vintage, thrifted or upcycled
  • 3 points for every pattern used that you’ve never sewn before
  • 10 points for using a pattern/fabric you’ve had for more than a year
  • 20 points for integrating a SCRAP (not a piece of fabric you cut) less than 1/2 yard into your garment

And as I already planned to do a little excavation in my Mount Fabric this weekend, I’m in!

I want to make this lovely jacket from one of my 5oies Pattern magazines:


I have picked a warm and fluffy wool in bluegreen which is going to leave a large gap in my stash – yay! Plus, it has been lying around for ages, I bought it 3 or 4 years ago.

I think I qualify for the following points.

  • 2.5 m fluffy woll and 2.5 m lining -> 25 points
  • 1 as of yet unused pattern -> 3 points
  • 1 ooooold fabric -> 10 points
  • 1 equally old pattern -> 10 points
  • And I will surely find some scrap piece which I can integrate somewhere -> 20 points

48 points in total, if I am doing this point awarding systems correctly. That’s not half bad.

But, alas, it has to be done first! Tonight I am going to make the pattern adaptations and Friday is sewing day. Fun!

3 Responses to “The Sew Weekly Stash Busting Challenge”

  1. Lauren Says:

    What a fun contest! That jacket is to die for, too! Can’t wait to see what you make 🙂

  2. jane Says:

    Love this pattern! Looking forward to your creation. Is the pattern available for sale? Would love to have it.

    • sewvintage Says:

      Jane, presently I don’t intend to make any patterns for sale, but I would never say never. I have been thinking about it, but haven’t really got down to the details up to now.

Comments are closed.