Simplicity 2501

Pattern Description
A nice “vintag-ey” looking blouse in 4 views. I made view C
Pattern Sizing
Es gibt 2 Multisize-Sets, american Sizes 6-14 and 14-22. The pattern has separate pieces for A-, B-, C- and D-cup sizes. I made Size 20, D-Cup.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
As far as I read it, the instructions were fairly easy to understand. The collar construction was different than I anticipated, the part in front of the loops is not attached to the neckline, it is loose, rather like a scarf. The collar construction was well explained.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like:
  • The sleeve. It is one of those sleeves with 3 darts in the sleeve cap which were also popular in the 1930ies. Additionally the slieeve cap is eased slightly and it leaves a lot of room for movement. Also I prefer this over a real puff sleave, as these ar not flattering on a plus size figure and are, in my opinion, most suitable for young girls. View D offers an alternative  sleeve, which is puffy and gathered, but much longer than most of the regular sleeves these days. I am going to try this one too.
  • I like the versatility of the pattern. With the small pieces you can go for two-tone designs as well as single fabrics, you can make the blouse with or without the waistband and there are different types of collar.
Dislike:
  • As so often: the measures indicated in the table to determine the right size are completely off. According to the table I would have needed size 22, but I am fine with the size 20. Also, according to the instruction, I am a D-Cup, but the blouse is too wide in the bust area, whereas the waist is fitting very welll, so I’ll try the C-Cup variation next time.  I really do not understand why these measurement tables NEVER EVER are correct. No matter if you take a pattern from Vogue, McCalls, Butterick, Siimplicity, whatever or if you sew from a magazine like BWOF or ottobre, I have made it a rule to make the garment one size smaller than indicated. Perhaps it’s just that I am aiming for a more “vintage” look which is more fitted than modern garments, I don’t know.
Fabric used.
A poly-blend fabric with linen character (a gift from a friend), some scraps of light blue cotton for the contrast and red jersey for the piping.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added a cuff to the sleeves and made them 2 inches longer. I do not like the modern short-sleeve designs on me. I have rather large upper arms and with very short sleeves I look like the butchers daughter, so lengthening the sleeve is one of my standard alterations.

After finishing the blouse I saw in the instructions that I was supposed to double the waistband. Well, too late! But it’s fine as it is.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I will sew it again. I really want to try view D with the gathered puff sleeve and the variation without the waistband. And the 3-dart-sleeve has just become one of my favorites, I am sure, this will appear frequently on my future garments.

I would recommend the pattern to sewers with intermediate skills. The collar is a bit tricky so it’s not a good project for beginners.

Miscellaneous:
  • Time for sewing: approx. 3 hours
  • Total cost: 10,- € for the pattern, the fabrics have been scraps and gifts, the beautiful vintage buttons were gifted by Miriam – a really thrifty project.
