Pattern Description

Dress with princess seam bodice, high waist and flared skirt.

Pattern Sizing

Two mulitsize sets:

A: American sizes 10, 12, 14, 16, 18

BB: American sizes 20, 22, 24, 26, 28

I made size 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope after sewing it?

Yes, except for my little mistake (the fold on the side skirt front doesn’t match the princess seam of the bodice).

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Well, ahem … they WOULD have been if I had bothered to read them. Promptly I messed up with the folds on the skirt. 

How is the fit of the finished garment?

The bodice was slightly too large in the waist and considerably too large around the bust. I took in the center front and back by 1/2″ each and adapted the princess seams. 

Likes/Dislikes?

Like:

  • The high waist is figure flattering.
  • Many variation possibilities from elegant to casual.
  • Suitable for a modern look as well as for vintage style

Dislike:

  • nothing

Fabric used

A lightweight linen-cotton mix. I am using the same fabric for lining a matching Chanel jacket which will be finished soon. The trims are made from the selvage of the the Chanel fabric.

Pattern alterations or design changes

I took in the center front and back as well as the princess seams by 1/2″ inch each.

When transferring the pattern I forgot to trace the fold in the side front of the skirt and had, of course, difficulties to fit the skirt to the bodice. I ended up with a fold that doesn’t align with the bodice seams, but I would have to have taken apart the whole thing to change this and simply couldn’t be bothered.

Would I sew it again? Would I recommend it to others?

Sew again: Yes, definitely. I already made a sleeveless variation from plaid wool. I don’t think that I’ll make the view with the collar, though. I like the neckline without the collar.

Recommend: Yes. It is suitable for beginners with some experience, the hard parts are the princess seams and the front facing, the reast is really easy. It is a versatile dress pattern well worth the effort of sewing and fitting it. 

Miscellaneous:

  • Time for sewing: approx. 4 hours
  • Cost:
    fabric approx. 15 Euro
    long metal zipper at center back approx. 20 Cent (from a bulk purchase)
    trim: “drop-off” of a Chanle jacket (selvage)
    pattern: 10 Euro (plus shipping) from Simplicity
