Something to go with my white shirts

An adaptation of Simplicity 2338

A few days ago I discovered this Simplicity pattern and really wanted to make something like it. However, since I own Simplicty 2338 which is similar, I decided to adapt that one instead of purchasing yet another pattern.

I was a bit skeptic how the gathered bodice would look on a large bust, so I decided to play it safe and go for a dart instead:  I overlapped the two front bodice pieces at the princess seams as far as they would go and changed the gap  to a waist dart. Of course I also added the fitting alterations I worked out when sewing the pattern for the first time. I really like the neckline of Simplicity 2338, so I didn’t change it –  and here is my 4oies/50ies pinafore dress.


As always, figuring out the best match for the plaid fabric was a challenge and I ended up not cutting the pieces on the fold but individually. It’s more time consuming put allows for more precision and I am rather pleased with the results, the match is almost perfect.

I think this is a good office outfit for me, I can combine it with all of those beautiful white shirts  I am going to have in the near future, thanks to Barbara’s wonderful white shirt sewalong over at sewing on the edge or with a T-shirt or sweater. And I still have enough fabric to make a little bolero or shrug to wear over it.

Fabric: wool polyester blend

pattern: adapted from Simplicity 2338

total cost: approx. 10 Euro  (except pattern)

time for sewing: approx. 4 hours

