White Shirt No. 1 FINISHED

My White Shirt No. 1 is the “Smooth Sailing” Blouse from Wearing History

1. Why did you choose this pattern?

I love the fashions of the 1930ies and 1940ies and I want to have a shirt/blouse to go with my vintage outfits. The “Smooth Sailing” Bluse from Wearing Histroy is a reproduction of an original 1930ies pattern and it will compliment a modern and vintage look equally well. I am still in the process of fitting this pattern to my body as perfectly as possible with the goal to have a standard pattern to use in the future. Once I have the fit down pat, I can make blouses very fast: just cut, sew, wear.

2. Where will you wear this?

Mostly I will wear it at work, it looks good with pants and skirts.

3. Why did you choose this fabric for this pattern?

It came from my stash and it is a leftover scrap from a nightshirt I made about a year ago. I had to make a seam in the collar center, because there isn’t enough fabric, but I  matched the fabric pattern so it will be inconspicuous.

4. What aspects of construction were you looking forward to as you sewed this?

Mostly I wanted to perfect my collar-attaching skills and I wanted to figure out what to do with the shoulder part of the facing – attach it by hand, stitch in the ditch on the shoulder seam ? I ended up serging the shoulder part and attaching it to the shoulder seam by hand, since I alread slipstitched the center part of the collar a few more handstitches didn’t make any difference.  I still do not have a patented solutions for this, however; there must be some trick of the trade how to finish this edge. With this particular pattern I am going to make a double yoke the next time, so the problem of what to do with the front facing on the shoulder will not be an issue here.

5. What aspects of construction worried you? What did you think you might mess up?

I was confident that I have all the necessary sewing skills and I had. Whats worried me more is the fit. I already made the shirt once before and the fit was not perfect. I had a few ideas where to change what and it worked out pretty good. The shoulders are still slightly too wide and the hips could use 1/4″ more width the next time, but these are not big issues anymore, so I am well on my way to my basic pattern.

6. Are there any instructions in this pattern that you have decided to disregard? Are you substituting another method and if so what will it be?

No.

7. How long did it take you to complete this shirt or blouse?

Sewing: about 3 hours, Fitting: about 0.5 hours

Total cost of project: less than 3 Euro, everything from my stash.

3 Responses to “White Shirt No. 1 FINISHED”

  1. Robin Says:

    that is a very cute style and I like the fabric. versatile, too, I bet!

  2. Alethia Says:

    Great shirt!

  3. Sue Says:

    You’ve done a great job with your shirt! Well done to finish so quickly. 🙂

Comments are closed.


