Becoming a skirt person

Well, I don’t know what’s happening to me, but after 25 years of wearing almost exclusively pants I’m experiencing a “mutation” to a skirt girl. I’m probably just fed up with wearing black pants to business day in and day out, or maybe I am getting the hang of the vintage style finally.

Whatever the reason, I changed my weekend sewing plans: I put the shirtdress on hold for a while in favor of a second skirt and I started a winter jacket, because I really NEED one and because it frees up a lot of space in the stash closet to make something of heavy wool.

Here is the black skirt from a 50ies pattern that was planned. You cannot see much details on the picture, but there aren’t many anyway just a few belt loops at the waist. Very basic and very versatile.

On Friday a gorgeous green plaid fabric from a German mailorder company arrived and I really wanted to make something from it right away. I decided to make a very flared skirt. It’s still way too long and I have to make the hem but I let it hang a few days and my neighbour the tailor will help me to get a straight hemline. I am not sure about the look of the very flared style on me, I’ll give it a trial run in the office. From a scrap piece I made a little bowtie which really makes it look like something Peggy from MadMen would wear, doesn`t it? Very Fifties, somehow.

I also finished White Shirt No. 2, as planned. It is fitting me very well and is featuring here in the skirt pictures already. I will post some detailed images and a pattern review later this week.

3 Responses to “Becoming a skirt person”

  1. Sue Says:

    Your white shirt is very pretty.

  2. Joyce Says:

    I too wear skirts. Ladies did not wear pants !! In the mid 60’s pants suits
    started to be allowed in the work place. Times sure have changed

Comments are closed.


