McCall’s M6035 – White Shirt No. 2

Pattern Description

Shirt with princess seams, collar stand and differen sleeves.

Pattern Sizing

2 Multisize sets:

AA:  6 to 12

E5:  14 to 22

Each with cup sizes A, B, C and D

I made size 20, Cup C; the blue view with the gathtered sleeves

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope after sewing it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I only read the instructions for the drawstring tunnel on the sleeves and this was not easy to follow for me. I still don’t know how they want you to make the tunnel; is it by stitching down the seam allowances? No idea. I came up with my own solution, stitching a bias band over the seam allowances of the front sleeve seam.

How is the fit of the finished garment?

Very good. After many trials with the BMV patterns I finally learned my lesson: I need one size smaller than the measurement tables say and I also need one cup size smaller than indicated. This is the first time I trusted my gut feeling and acutally dared to startout  with the smaller size and the result is perfect: the shirt is fitting well without any alterations.

Likes/Disklikes?

Like:

  • Very good basic pattern for a shirt with many variation possibiltieis.
  • perfect fit

Dislike:

  • confusing description of the gathered sleeve, but it’s not a big issue

Fabric used

very lightweight wool-cotton mix

Pattern alterations or design changes

Instead of 2 drawstrings on the sleeve I only inserted one string in the tunnel while sewing on the bias band.  I gathered the sleeve and fixed it with a few stitches on the hem. Perhaps not my best idea, the sleeve will probably be no fun to iron after the first wash 😀 . 

Would I sew it again? Would I recommend it to others?

Sew again: yes. This will be one of my basic patterns

Recommend: Yes. But not for unexperienced people. The collar with the stand requires some sewing skills and experience.

Miscellaneous:

  • Time for sewing: approx. 4 h
  • Cost:
    Fabric: 5 Euro
    Buttons, bias band, interfacing: approx. 2 Euro (everything from my stash)
2 Responses to “McCall’s M6035 – White Shirt No. 2”

  1. Barbara Says:

    Love this, am considering this view for one of my next shirts and this has made me decide to do it. Great choice of fabric – really suits the gathering. Oh and beautiful collar band.

  2. sewvintage Says:

    Thank you. I am curious how you will manage with the description of the gathered sleeve. I am going to try the wider sleeves (the white shirt in the picture) for my next M6035

Comments are closed.


