Hercule Poirot and Miss Lemon

Presently, I am developing a slight obsession with the UK series “Agatha Christie’s Poirot” starring David Suchet as Poirot.

I’ve been a fan of Christie’s books since my teenage years and David Suchet is for me the perfect Poirot. Not to lessen the merits of Sir Peter Ustinov, he’s a great actor and I also like his version of Poirot, but Suchet is better. His Poirot is exactly like I imagined him from the very beginning.

And, what’s more: the Ustinov-films were adapted to be contemporary which I didn’t like at all. A lot of Christies original plot even doesn’t make sense today. The series with Suchet is actually set in the 1930ies and the whole thing from location up to clothes is just perfect. Art Deco through and through, a veritable style catalogue. I know that England has a lot of Art Deco architecture, but in this series you see them by the dozen while comfortably lounging on the couch – fabulous.

I finally found out how to do screenshots in my video player, so here are a few impressions. The quality is not too good, just to give you a glimpse.

The appartment house where Poirot has his flat:

Art-Deco Interiors:

The episode “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”  features a very steampunky factory location:

Poirots secretary Miss Lemon, played by Pauline Moran, has the most stylish outfits, like this beautiful grey suit:

A dress with an interesting neckline

back view:

Gorgeous sweater:

This read blouse is an absolute dream, I think I urgently need one for myself.

A coat with an interesting back, sort of a mix between pintucks and box pleat.

And here’s another fab dress with a beautiful neckline.

I think Miss Lemon has been chosen to be my new style icon. 😀 .

So, if you get the chance to watch the series, go for it. It is highly recommendable.

One Response to “Hercule Poirot and Miss Lemon”

  1. Fru Björn Says:

    I actually have the whole dvd box on my shelf waiting to be watched and enjoyed! I love the atmosphere and clothing in Poirot series!

Comments are closed.


